I Have A Life

I am a late follower to the podcast, “Serial”(https://serialpodcast.org/season-one) and while listening to the first season I heard a great quote, “I have a life.  It may not be the life I envisioned for myself but it is a life”.  

For those of you who have never listened to this podcast, the quote was said by the main character in the first season’s crime, Adnan Syed.  He was convicted by a jury of his peers in the death of his former girlfriend.  

Adnan was arrested at the age of 17 and has never left the correctional system since that fateful day in 1999.  He turned 18 while incarcerated and has spent his entire adult life in a prison; only leaving to attend court.  The podcast chronicles the crime and the conviction of Sayed while trying to determine if he if was mistakenly convicted.  Sayed has claimed innocence from the beginning of the story.

Here is someone who is serving a life term in prison with all of his freedoms stripped away and yet he claims that he does have a life.  He has embraced his religion, taken his imprisonment seriously, and tried to be a role model for other prisoners.  If he can attest to the life he has made for himself then I must learn to accept the life I have been handed.

Too many times, I get frustrated by the uncertainties being the mom to a special needs child.  It is difficult at this time of year to be on facebook looking at all her peers getting excited to graduate high school and getting all kinds of accolades including multiple college acceptances.  I am happy for all these kids but I can’t help feeling envious.  We never knew what her potential was since it was stolen from us that fateful day.  

lifetitleI remind myself quite frankly that she is alive, healthy, and striving.  It may not be the life I envisioned for her or for myself 18 years ago when she was born a healthy baby but we have made the best of what we were handed.  We will continue to strive forward and reach whatever goals we can and live a great life.  

Thank you, Sayed, for reminding me what life is really all about.

 

Leave a Reply

